Review: The Cry – Helen FitzGerald


 The CryTo be honest, my initial attraction to this book was inspired by the fact that its cost matched the exact amount left on my amazon gift card combined with the fact that it’s a thriller and had pretty positive reviews. However I was not expecting this book to be as good as it was!

I’ll start by saying that apart from the obvious themes that may be disturbing to younger readers such as abduction, I feel like this book is suitable for a massive age range, which is quite unusual, as the plot is not very complicated (but is still fairly gripping). The main reason I liked this book is due to Helen FitzGerald’s astounding ability to create three-dimensional characters! As a (novice) writer myself I know this is extremely hard and it is even harder to maintain the characters’ different elements as the plot thickens and things start to change.

To quickly summarize this book (without spoilers), a husband and wife, Joanna and Alistair, travel to Australia, where they are suddenly thrown into turmoil when their baby  goes missing. In my opinion, as I have seen mentioned in other reviews, the book revolves around the relationships between different characters rather than an action packed plot but don’t let this put you off because although the plot isn’t the best, the ending is not foreseeable and rather than being like an episode of Jeremy Kyle (which I may or may not have expected), this book is less about drama and more about emotional and moral turmoil.

Personally, my favourite part of this book was the fact that at the end of the book, I still wasn’t sure what to think of Joanna which I loved because her character is SO multidimensional! I’ll definitely be reading more books by Helen FitzGerald!

As always, let me know what you think of The Cry!

Wanderingsofearth

Leave a comment